Paths of Glory


Players

Jason Lindsay member since: 2016-06-03
MIchael Lahl member since: 2017-07-15
...

Sure that sounds great. I'll work on reading the rules and then just ping me when you are back and ready to go and we'll get it rolling.

Wilderness War is a pretty popular PBEM game and that also has interception in it so there's probably some pretty good ideas that might apply from that game to UKC for PBEM.

...

I suppose you are correct.  Eventually the West would collapse and with the opening of the Southern Front in Solonika, it can really swing the game towards the allies. 

I would be up for Unhappy King Charles!.  I love that game and have played it 3 or 4 times. Its been a few years so I will be pretty rusty with the rules.  Why don't we plan on starting after I get back from the Con after next weekend?  It will give me sometime to read the rules again.  i think it will work pretty well PBEM.  I do believe there is interception rules which will add a little extra to the PBEM moves.  I think I have an idea how to deal with it.  I'll be back from the Con on the 8th.  Maybe we can start the following week.  Does that sound good?

MIchael Lahl wrote:

So after looking at the map again I'm going to go ahead and conceede the game. I could probably struggle on for a bit longer but the western front is about to collapse for me so your victory is inevitable. I also didn't make nearly enough progress on the Eastern front to try and somehow compensate for my western front diasters. Well played!

So since this is wrapped up are you interested in starting something else PBEM? I'm open to any ideas including switching sides and playing this again. Another possibility that came to mind would be to do Unhappy King Charles. I've never played that game but would be willing to give it a shot assuming it can work for PBEM which I think it can?

Other CDG's I thought of would be Mr. Madison's War, For the People (I have the game but don't know the rules for that one yet so I would struggle unless you are familiar with it), Rebel Raiders (read the rules for that recently, don't know if it PBEM's well) etc.

 

...

So after looking at the map again I'm going to go ahead and conceede the game. I could probably struggle on for a bit longer but the western front is about to collapse for me so your victory is inevitable. I also didn't make nearly enough progress on the Eastern front to try and somehow compensate for my western front diasters. Well played!

So since this is wrapped up are you interested in starting something else PBEM? I'm open to any ideas including switching sides and playing this again. Another possibility that came to mind would be to do Unhappy King Charles. I've never played that game but would be willing to give it a shot assuming it can work for PBEM which I think it can?

Other CDG's I thought of would be Mr. Madison's War, For the People (I have the game but don't know the rules for that one yet so I would struggle unless you are familiar with it), Rebel Raiders (read the rules for that recently, don't know if it PBEM's well) etc.

...

Well then. You rolled a 4 which gave you 5LF I needed to roll anything but a 1 on my roll to at least tie you and not lose. I rolled....a 1. You win the battle so I retreated. I'll let you take your losses and advance and then I'll figure out my turn...

...

 

MIchael Lahl wrote:

So I saw the logfile and noticed the CC card you played. It seemed familiar and so I went back and looked at the logs and it was played in at least log 45 so shouldn't be removed and out of the game? If so, feel free to redo your turn if you'd like and also draw a new card.

Jason Lindsay wrote:

A tie in Warsaw!  I am taking a big gamble and attacking Strasbourg.  Back to you to roll.

That's right, I forgot I had played it as a CC. Just roll for the battle without it.

 

...

So I saw the logfile and noticed the CC card you played. It seemed familiar and so I went back and looked at the logs and it was played in at least log 45 so shouldn't be removed and out of the game? If so, feel free to redo your turn if you'd like and also draw a new card.

Jason Lindsay wrote:

A tie in Warsaw!  I am taking a big gamble and attacking Strasbourg.  Back to you to roll.

 

...

A tie in Warsaw!  I am taking a big gamble and attacking Strasbourg.  Back to you to roll.

...

Played card for RPs of course, took care of RPs, seige (successful), drew cards and rolled for MOs.

Back to you!

...

Was hoping to win in Warsaw but at least that was a smidge better then my usual miserable rolls :)

Played a card for RP's...

...

1 draw, and 2 victories, including ONE annihilation of Russian forces.  Not bad!  I played an event.  Back to you for your final AR.

...

All out german attacks on the eastern front...

...

Another crazy ridiculous result in Tarnopol. CP lost.  same roll as last battle.  I just attempted to entrench in a few spaces.  Back to you.

...

Some movement and an attack on Tarnopol.

...

Ok, back to you.  Just moved.  Back to you.

...

Ok, I rolled for the flank attack since your CC isn't valid anymore since we tied on the last battle you used it.  It failed.  However, your attack wiped me out.  I need you to advance your units and then I'll take my AR. 

...

Ok, I rolled for the flank attack since your CC isn't valid anymore since we tied on the last battle you used it.  It failed.  However, your attack wiped me out.  I need you to advance your units and then I'll take my AR. 

...

Oh shit.  In my mind when I was rolling I meant to do Lemberg first, which is why I thought I did and accidently added the ttrench to Tarnopol.  No worries, Metz it is.  I'll roll for the battle now.

MIchael Lahl wrote:

Entrench attempt in Lemberg wasn't successful... See notes a few posts down.

Jason Lindsay wrote:

I entrenched in Lemberg.  Do you still want to attack?

 

MIchael Lahl wrote:

Another flank attack on Lemburg...

 

 

 

...

Entrench attempt in Lemberg wasn't successful... See notes a few posts down.

Jason Lindsay wrote:

I entrenched in Lemberg.  Do you still want to attack?

 

MIchael Lahl wrote:

Another flank attack on Lemburg...

 

 

...

I entrenched in Lemberg.  Do you still want to attack?

 

MIchael Lahl wrote:

Another flank attack on Lemburg...

 

...

whoops, yeah I added the trench to Tarnopol accidently.  Go ahead and move it to Lemberg.

MIchael Lahl wrote:

AGH!!!! Nice roll. I'm not sure I understood your ops play on your turn. It looks like you entrench in Lemberg but the turn ended with no units or entrench markers on that space. Did you just forget to move them back?

 

...

AGH!!!! Nice roll. I'm not sure I understood your ops play on your turn. It looks like you entrench in Lemberg but the turn ended with no units or entrench markers on that space. Did you just forget to move them back?

Also, I just noticed that it looks like on that turn you did the opposite on the entrench rolls. Your roll in Metz of a 1 was a success the roll in Lemberg for 6 was a failure. The entrench result has to be less than the army LF to work...